Congregation Etz Chaim of DuPage County


Presidents:Marsha Sweetin and Ronni Markwell

Meetings and Events Information

What is Sisterhood to you?  Do you value camaraderie, women supporting women, Jewish values and an active community?  During the summer, a committee met to redefine what Sisterhood at Etz Chaim can be and we need you!  Please join us and help us realize our new mission.


“The Sisterhood of Etz Chaim empowers women to connect with each other across

generations and encourages the pursuit of Jewish values and communal learning.  

As a strong group of diverse women, we strive to serve the congregation and build

nurturing relationships within our community.”

Annual Membership Dues:

Free – First year of synagogue membership
$36 – Basic


Throughout the year, Sisterhood will be hosting a variety of fun events to create community, learn and explore Judaism.  We hope you will join us at the events below. 

Events 2016-2017

Sisterhood Sponsored Women of Reform Judaism Shabbat- October 28, 2016

Wine and Paint Night- November 3, 2016

Hanukkah Bazaar- December 4, 2016

3rd Annual Chocolate Seder- March 23, 2017

Hatha Vinyasa Yoga Class- May 3, 2017

Women's, Health Care and Spirituality- May 4, 2017

Summer Stitch and K'vetch- June 25, 2017 at 9:30 AM


Past Activities and Programs

July 20- 6:15 PM Cantigny Outing
Mah Jongg
October 5- 4:00 PM Fall Arboretum Event
October 11- 12:45 PM Sisterhood Open House
October 18- 10:00 AM "How to Dress" with Felice Dorsay
November 22- 9:00 AM Hanukkah Gift Bazaar
December 13- 10:00 AM Zumba
January 15- 6:00 PM Sisterhood/Brotherhood Shabbat Dinner & Service
January 24- 10:00 AM Yoga
February 6- 6:30 PM Soup, Bread & Game Night
April 10- 10:00 AM Passover Cooking Class
April 10- 12:15 PM Popular Books
April 12- 6:30 PM Women's Chocolate Seder
May 10- 6:30 PM End of Year Dinner


The ladies on the Sisterhood Board have graciously agreed to donate their time and talents to make this year fantastic.  To be a part of this great team, please contact Marsha Sweetin or Ronni Markwell about the open positions.


Co-Presidents: Ronni Markwell and Marsha Sweetin

Treasurer: Deanna Levin

Secretary: OPEN

VP Programming: Elizabeth Gossage

VP Communications: a committee is forming and needs volunteers

VP Membership: OPEN

Gift Shop Chairs: Illyssa De Mare, Melissa Ladin and Lisa Samuels

Wine and Paint Night Chair: Ilyssa De Mare

Hanukkah Bazaar Chair: Leah Notarus

Chocolate Seder Chair: Elizabeth Gossage

Women’s Education Event Chair: Diane Roubitchek

Past Presidents
In the tradition of honoring those who have come before us, we honor and recognize the past presidents of Sisterhood with our sincere gratitude and thanks...

Deb Bacol 
Claire Baer
Carrie Barerra
Cheri Chaney
Robin Channon
Ann Felt
Carol Friedman
Carole Foner
Marcia Goldstein
Deb Harris
Kathleen Herbach
Susan Hurwitz
Helen Jaffee
Lois Johnson
Brenda Kuhaneck
Ellie Lapidus
Samara Lingafelter
Heather Levine
Ronni Markwell
Bertie Morse
Leah Notarus
Wendy Peck
Diane Roubitchek
Florence Ruby
Sharon Samuels
Cynde Sawyer
Kathy Shapiro
Nancy Schulman
Kelly Small
Betty Stahl
Myra Turner Dunn
Dena Weisbard
Carol Wolin